Run for your life! Sam is…

** Guest Blog – Sam Willoughby, Founder & MD of What’s On 4 Ltd **

Until August last year my experience of running can be summarised as follows:  freezing cold cross country runs at school or 100m sprints where I always was last and don’t get me started on Sports Day!  I’m sure these are memories shared by many people who are not natural born runners.

But something happened 9 months ago to change this.   In May last year I’d started going to Body Combat classes and have done these ever since, I love these classes, but that is for another blog!  What Body Combat did was increase my fitness and confidence in my own ability to give running a try.  So I gave it a try.  I ran a mile.  That’s it.  I actually ran the whole mile.
A minor miracle for me.

Since then I’ve increased my distance and speed to now running 3 miles, with hills at about 11m 30s a mile.  I’m completely addicted to it.  When I’m in the middle of a run I still feel like dying of course but I don’t and I keep getting better.  I use my iphone and an app called Runkeeper to track my progress and this has really helped spur me on.

I’m in our karate centre (where I do Body Combat) Running Team for our local Race for Life 5k in June – who’d have thought! 

I’ll never be a natural runner but I do now understand why people do it and love it.  Running is also one factor that has helped me lose a stone in weight this year, along with Body Combat and using another app called MyFitnessPal.

So if you’re looking for a personal challenge this could be it?  And seriously, if I can do it absolutely anyone can!

Sam

To find your nearest Running Club see www.whatson4me.co.uk

 

If you would like to Guest Blog on What’s On 4 Me to inspire our fans then contact us now

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Run for your life! Sam is…”

  1. Bryan Andrews Says:

    Just goes to show Sam, that anyone, if they want it enough, even with a busy work commitment and family can make time for themselves and reap the benefits.

    If anyone would care to donate to Sam and the rest of the ladies/girls running Race for Life for Cancer Research, their sponsorship page is
    http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/carolinehalil1105?ref=nf

    The story behind the Race for Life team is here http://blog.basingstokekarate.com/unsung-heroes-caroline-halil-secures-a-team-of-75-at-race-for-life/

    Good luck to all everyone running or walking with Sam.

    Like

  2. I am just getting started on the Internet. I am retired now. There is quite a rich diversity of information in blogs so I am getting involved and commenting. I think that you have to put some attention on a blog to bring it above the dry and boring verbag Says:

    I am just getting started on the Internet. I am retired now. There is quite a rich diversity of information in blogs so I am getting involved and commenting. I think that you have to put some attention on a blog to bring it above the dry and boring v…

    […]Run for your life! Sam is… « Whatson4me's Blog[…]…

    Like

Leave a Reply

