Make Your 2012 Plan!

New Year Resolutions not working out?  How about instead of making changes why not make improvements? Be a better you? Start the journey of being the YOU you know you can be, and want to be? Wow – there’s a thought!

Be honest with yourself because you know deep down that in the logical part of our hearts and mind, making changes that you don’t really want to isn’t going to work. When you change doing what you want to and what comes naturally – you’re going to be miserable and feel bad! So, how’s this for an idea….what about this January, instead of making all the new year’s resolutions like going to the gym, giving up smoking/drinking/chocolate, etc. etc…  Why not try something a bit different instead? What if you spent time working out what you can do to improve yourself instead of what you need to change? Instead of beating yourself with a stick for being and wanting all the things you think are wrong (but oh so nice) what about thinking about how you can be good to yourself throughout 2012? What would it feel like next Christmas to look back on all the things you’d done and achieved personally throughout the year?

Every January I set myself a challenge for the following year – and in the main I have achieved them – 2011 has been the year I learnt to swim underwater so I could be a proper swimming companion to my son. But now I want to take it one step further – this January I’m going to take the time and effort to make a detailed plan for 2012, something that will keep me focused, energised and motivated. I want to do something positive with my life every day, I want to be good to me, take care of myself and plan to achieve the things I know and believe I can, but as yet never have. There is no surprise that in the past I have
often not achieved my goals and dreams, generally because I’ve never gone about it in the right way.

I heard once about a lady who, through desperation, was forced to do something she never in her wildest dreams thought she could – her 4 year old Grandson got trapped under the wheels of her car when he was playing on the drive – no one’s fault, the handbrake cable just chose that moment to snap and a pleasant playtime with Grandma turned into a disaster. But you know what she did? She managed to lift the car just enough for her Grandson to free himself. In that moment of sheer emotion and panic she achieved more than she ever thought she could and happily her Grandson walked away with just a few bruises.  But, once she was over the shock and all the attention died down she began to think about all the times in her life when she had wanted to do something but hadn’t simply because she didn’t think she could. Maybe she wanted to do or buy something that was too expensive, time consuming, or difficult – that she wasn’t able because she wasn’t clever enough, brave enough, young enough, or old enough. She thought about how her life would have been different if she had applied that same negative logic when she tried to save her Grandson – the outcome didn’t bear thinking about.

But what if she had put half of that belief and determination into achieving some goals in her life – what might her life have been like? A journalist who had heard about the incident asked to interview her and he was interested to know why she seemed so subdued and reflective about her act of heroism. She explained that she felt she had missed out on so much in her life because of her limited belief in herself and her abilities. He asked her what sort of things she had wanted to do and she told of how she had always wanted to study for and achieve a degree and then lecture at university – the excuse she had for everything now of course what that she was too old, she was 70. The journalist said very simply to her that in 5 years’ time she was going to be 75, and that she could be 75 with a degree, or she could be 75 without a degree – the choice was hers.

And the same goes for all of us. This time next year when we’re getting ready for Christmas 2012 we have the choice now of being able to reflect on a year that has seen achievements, successes and positivity. We can achieve what we want to – everyone has the ability to reach their dream, but let’s not wait for an accident to happen for us to test our metal and show us what we are made of.

Let’s start planning now to realise those dreams, goals and ambitions. I know I want to look back on my life – when I am old and grey, and know that I have never let my limiting belief in myself or the limiting beliefs that others have, effect what I have done. To every problem or barrier there is a solution, it’s just a case of finding it.

Remember the 5 Ps – Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance.
So be good to yourself, make a plan for 2012 that is the first step to achieving what you want to, that you know you are capable of and what you dream of.

To see my 2012 plan and to download my free report which include a template for your own New Year 2012 plan visit my ‘Girlie Gatherings’ website.
Bring on 2012!!!

Julie Hampshire

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

