What’s On 4 Me 2013 Awards Nominee – Denise Holliday

All Awards nominees are given the opportunity to showcase their great work on our Blog.  So, remember to Sign up for our Blog to hear news of other nominees coming shortly!

(To add your blog – email info@whatson4me.co.uk)

kidney

I found out that I had kidney failure whilst pregnant with my daughter Georgina in 2005.  It was a huge shock for me and my family.  In 2007 a group of patients decided to form Doncaster & Bassetlaw Kidney Association (DaBKA) as a registered charity and have gone from strength to strength.  I have been a Trustee committee member and secretary of DaBKA from the start.

When Georgina was two, my kidneys failed and I had to start peritoneal dialysis at home four times during the day.  I then progressed to APD, dialysing for nine hours a night.  After PD was no longer suitable I went on to Haemodialysis in hospital three days a week, for four hours.  In February 2011, ‘the call’ came and I was fortunate to receive a kidney transplant.  The road after transplant has not been smooth and i have to take a cocktail of drugs every day but the difference to my life is amazing.  I can be a proper mum now and I enjoy life to the full, making the most of every minute.

I have campaigned to raise awareness of organ donation, and have done several interviews on local and national radio. I met Princess Anne when she came to open Doncaster dialysis unit.  As secretary of DaBKA, I have helped to organise and plan many local kidney patient days out, social events balloon launches and Christmas parties.

Being diagnosed and living with renal failure is often very frightening and sometimes isolating and I feel able to help other patients by sharing own experiences which will hopefully help and reassure fellow kidney patients.

When I found out that I had been nominated for a What’s On 4 Me Award I was overwhelmed.  Thank you to everyone who has voted for me, I really do appreciate it.

I hope that by reading this blog, if you believe in organ donation it has spurred you on to sign the register,  if just one person signs the register then I have achieved a small bit of what I set out to do.

Thank you to everyone who has voted for me, and for reading this blog, I really do appreciate it.

Denise x

Denise Holliday has been nominated in the category Volunteer of the Year. To vote for Denise please visit the What’s On 4 Me Awards website and click the Voting Link.

If you want to keep updated and find out how to attend our glittering Awards Ceremony at Earls Court in November, as part of the Ideal Home Show at Xmas, then add your details here
 
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

